Strong Showing For Achilles At Formula D Atlanta

May 12, 2014

May 12, 2014 - Santa Clarita, Calif. – Rain poured down minutes before qualifying began at Formula DRIFT Atlanta, putting drivers to the test as they did their best to keep cars on the track and put down a scoring run in the sometimes torrential downpour. Team Achilles drivers Daigo Saito, Robbie Nishida, Kenny Moen, Dean Kearney, Charles Ng, Marc Landreville, Geoff Stoneback, Alec Hohnadell, and Dan Savage all qualified for Top 32 competition.

The rain stayed away on competition day, and Team Achilles drivers had some amazing tandem runs. Ultimately, Daigo Saito, Robbie Nishida, Kenny Moen, and Charles Ng were each victorious in their Top 32 battles and would head to Top 16. Rookies Geoff Stoneback, Alec Hohnadell, and Dan Savage showed the crowds that the battle for 2014 Rookie of the Year is going to be fierce.

First up in Top 16 was 2012 Champion, Daigo Saito, who would face number one qualifier, Forrest Wang. Daigo won the battle but unfortunately broke his engine in the process, effectively ending his event by not being able to make it to the line for his Great 8 run. Robbie lined up against Darren McNamera for his Top 16 battle, and laid down a near perfect chase run and a dominant lead run, which gave him the victory. Kenny Moen’s hot streak continued as he bested Chelsea DeNofa and headed to his second Great 8 of the 2014 season.

Robbie Nishida would meet his good friend Ken Gushi in the Great 8, and would head to his first Final Four of the 2014 season after a unanimous victory. Kenny Moen gave Vaughn Gittin, Jr. a run for his money in the Great 8 and showed fans why he is one to watch this season, but Gittin ultimately took the win – pitting Nishida against Gittin in the Final Four. Robbie, who was on fire and dialed in this round, finished fourth overall after battling eventual event winner Gittin in the Final Four.

Round Three of Formula Drift will be held at Homestead Miami Speedway on May 30th & 31st. This will be the first event for the newly created PRO2 series, which will have main competition on Friday, May 30th after the conclusion of PRO qualifying.