Saito Wins Motegi Racing Super Drift Challenge

April 13, 2014

April 13, 2014 - Santa Clarita, Calif. – The second annual Motegi Racing Super Drift Challenge got underway last weekend with six of the 16 drivers in the competition from Team Achilles. Achilles Radial drivers Daigo Saito, Robbie Nishida, Kenny Moen, Dean Kearney, Charles Ng, and Brandon Wicknick were all ready to do battle at the evening event during the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

The first battle of the Top 16 for Team Achilles saw Kenny Moen against Kyle Mohan, a rematch from last week’s Formula DRIFT event. Moen, who has been on fire this season, took the win and advanced to the Great 8. Next up was Daigo Saito versus Brandon Wicknick, the only time in the Top 16 when two members of Team Achilles were slated to meet. Saito threw down one of his signature runs and advanced to the next round, where he would meet teammate Dean Kearney. Robbie Nishida faced Odi Bakchis in the Top 16, but was unable to advance due to issues with the car during his chase run.

Moen and Saito both won their Great 8 match ups, and headed to the Final Four. Moen faced Forrest Wang in one of the closest battles of the night. The Norwegian was able to pull out the win and head to the finals where he would meet the winner of the battle of ex-champions Daigo Saito and Michael Essa. Saito and Essa left nothing on the table during their battle and gave the fans two great runs, with Saito claiming victory. The final round would pit two members of Team Achilles against each other in a battle for the top of the podium. The final result had Daigo Saito with the win and Kenny Moen claiming second place for the second time in a week.

Round Two of Formula Drift gets underway on May 9th and 10th at Road Atlanta, the track where Daigo Saito took his first win last season.